The Resurection!

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Wow…. its been a long time since I blogged in this space and although there are tons of reasons behind it I found that there are just as many behind bringing it back from the dead.  Its been a tough year for me and although there is a shiney light begging me to follow I thought maybe I needed to find a place to get out some nervous energy as I work toward my goal. 

If anyone follows me and makes the connections you all know that I have a little hobby that I love to do.  I make custom bookthongs using your photo or book cover as the focus of a crystal bead that I enamel, imbedding your precious forever.  I took it a bit further this year and made some badge bling for RT for a few lucky ladies and have been trying to think of ways to expand.  Step in a fellow hockey mom who through her job knows whats available for the workforce in opportunities.  NT loved my thongs.  She even wanted to purchase some to promote her workplace company which was awesome.  When I told her that I would love to do more, had some ideas I would love to have the money to expand into she gave me the nudge in the right direction.  Now I am working on prepping a business plan and if I jump through the right hoops I might be able to get some help in getting lift off for taking my hobby into a full time business opportunity.  With that I have been tinkering with keychains, buttons and other jewellry with enamelled embellishments and now I am working on hockey lace bracelets as well.  So many ideas and so little time since hockey season is upon us and I am back to ushering at the local OHL arena (Go Sting Go) and being in hockey mom mode as well. 

IN addition to this I am still reading non stop.  Reviewing is still a focus in my life with Bitten by Books, ARE and some other independant reviews for my own enjoyment.  With that said the previous entry in this blog is one that I especially love.  Lisa Renee Jones has been a fave of mine for a while and this book is absolutely top of the pile!  Please check out my review and comment.  I have hopes and plans to make sure my amazon reviews are all transferred over here and subsequent ones are loaded up as well.   I hope you all enjoy!

On a personal note this year has been full of ups and downs with the most important day of the year being April 8th, Easter Sunday when my healthy, no previous symptom, father fell into his breakfast with a massive heart attack.  This being days before I was going to head off on the train to Chicago for RT12 totally threw my life in a different direction.  I won’t get into a lot of detail but as per what he would have wanted I went on my trip, got on the train and opened my ereader to a new Donna Grant book and found the hero named Hugh….. Hugh was my dad’s name and since I have not heard of too many hero’s named such I knew it was a sign that I needed to go.  Needed to find comfort with some friends that I might only have limited contact with but have been there to support me along my way.  I especially found the hugs and support from Cassandra Carr, Daisy Harris, Donna Grant, Lisa REnee Jones, Diego Harrison and Caridad Pineiro to be more than helpful in my acceptance.  This weekend I have to revisit some of that pain when they plant a tree that was bought in my dad’s name in the local conservation area so I will have to draw on that support again and I know it is there whenever I need it.

Going to leave it at that for todays entry….. have loads more to say (hey I never even got into the lockout and that weasel Gary Bettman yet) and there will be lots more reviews to be posted as well.  Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!  Hugs!

 

Shell the Hockeyvamp

Leave a Reply

